Community Partnerships

In its short history, MESH has proven to be a powerful and vital force in the metro area in our ability to produce and to sustain collaborations and partnerships needed to improve our community’s ability to end homelessness.  Our work and impact is evidenced in:

  • The creation and progress of Heading Home Plans to End Homelessness in Hennepin, Ramsey, Anoka, and Scott-Carver communities.
  • The consolidation of CoC regions (Anoka-Dakota and Scott/Carver-Washington) with the continued plans to consolidate all suburban CoC’s into one continuum: the Suburban Metro Area Continuum of Care (SMAC).
  • Heading Home Coordinators from across the state meeting under MESH’s leadership to share best practices and avoid duplication of efforts and resources.
  • The formation and continued work of Downtown Congregations to End Homelessness (DCEH).

 

It is clear that the ability of communities and providers to work as unified system, as opposed to in isolation, is a required and vital step in our efforts to end homelessness.  Coordination, partnerships and collaboration, however, are not likely to occur without support and neutral facilitation; nor are they are likely to be sustained and succeed without careful guidance and nurturing to ensure the interests of all are honored in the collaborative effort.  MESH has exhibited our ability to play this role, of helping to create and sustain these important partnerships.  Our neutrality and standing in the community gives us the ability to bring sometimes unlikely partners together, ultimately leading to a metro shelter & housing system that can work and communicate together to be more effective.

Heading Home Coordinators

 Heading Home Minnesota Laura Kadwell (612) 721-3700, x112laurakadwell@gmail.com
 Heading Home Anoka Michele Reid (763) 323-5707michele.reid@co.anoka.mn.us
 Heading Home Dakota Rebecca Bowers email:   rebecca.bowers@co.dakota.mn.us

Robin (651) 554-5634rlkieffer@charter.net Kieffer

   Heading Home Hennepin Cathy ten Broeke (612) 596-1606cathy.ten.broeke@co.hennepin.mn.usMatthew Ayres(612) 596-6645Matthew.Ayres@co.hennepin.mn.us
 Heading Home Ramsey Carol Zierman (651) 266-8004carol.zierman@co.ramsey.mn.us
   Heading Home Scott/Carver Allison Streich AllisonS@carvercda.org
   Heading Home Washington Diane Elias   Email: Diane.Elias@co.washington.mn.us

 

Local Planning Committees

 

Anoka

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care Michele Reid

Michele.Reid@co.anoka.mn.us

2nd Thursday of every other month at 2:00 PM, St. Stephens, Anoka
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program   2nd Thursday of every other month at 1:00 PM, St. Stephens, Anoka
Heading Home Anoka (HHA) Education Committee  Michele.Reid@co.anoka.mn.us 2nd Thursday of month at 9:00 AM, ACGC Rm 244
HHA Service Committee   1st Tuesday of month at 2:30 PM, Salvation Army, Coon Rapids
HHA Housing Committee   2nd Wednesday of month at 2:00 PM, ACGC Rm 552A

 

 

Dakota

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care John Kemp  john@neighborsmn.org

Rebecca.Bowers@co.dakota.mn.us

4th Thursday of every month 8:30-11:30am at Neighbors, South St. Paul
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program John Kemp  john@neighborsmn.org

Rebecca.Bowers@co.dakota.mn.us

Email for meeting dates and time.   Sub-committee varies.
Heading Home Committee Rebecca.Bowers@co.dakota.mn.us

Robin Kieffer rlkieffer@charter.net

Varies.  Email for meeting dates and times.

 

 

 

Hennepin

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care Mark Hendrickson Mark.Hendrickson@co.hennepin.mn.us Varies
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program, HHH Prevention Committee Dawn Horgan dhorgan@lssmn.org 3rd Tuesday 11am-1pm at St Stephen’s 2211 Clinton Avenue South
Heading Home Hennepin Employment Jim Durdle jim.durdle@cctwincities.org Unknown
Heading Home Hennepin GRH Step-Down Julia Welle-Ayres julia.w.ayres@gmail.com Varies
Heading Home Hennepin Family Providers Betsy Lamarre-Maddox betsylamarre@stannesplace.orgZib Hinz Elizabeth.Hinz@mpls.k12.mn.us 2nd Friday 11:30am-1pm, location varies
Heading Home Hennepin Youth Providers Judy Paul  judy.paul@co.hennepin.mn.us Varies
Heading Home Hennepin Singles Providers Matthew Ayres  Matthew.Ayres@co.hennepin.mn.us Unknown
Heading Home Hennepin Community Education Heidi Johnson McAllister  612-242-4670  heidi@dceh.org Varies
HIV Housing Gayle Caruso gayle.caruso@mnaidsproject.org 3rd Thursday 9-10:30am at Clare Apartments (929 Central Avenue Northeast)
Shelter Providers Action Association (SPAA) Cathy Heying 612-870-2296 3rd Monday of every month from 12:30-2:00 pm in the Living Room at St. Stephen’s main office (2211 Clinton Ave S)
Teen Moms/Young Families Jenny Geris Contact Matthew Ayres for more information.Matthew.Ayres@co.hennepin.mn.us
Undocumented People Angela Hedlund Contact Matthew Ayres for more information.Matthew.Ayres@co.hennepin.mn.us
Volunteer Trainings John Vodika Contact Matthew Ayres for more information.Matthew.Ayres@co.hennepin.mn.us
Homeless Against Homelessness (HAH) Cathy Heying 612-870-2296 Every Wednesday from 4:30-6pm at the Human Rights office at St. Stephens (basement of the school building on the corner of 22nd and Clinton in S. Mpls)

 

Ramsey

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care Jim Anderson  jim.anderson@co.ramsey.mn.us Varies
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program, HHR Prevention Committee Jim Anderson  jim.anderson@co.ramsey.mn.us 4th Thursday 2-4pm.  YWCA on Western & Selby in St Paul
Heading Home Ramsey Employment Jim Durdle jim.durdle@cctwincities.org Varies
St Paul Area Coalition to End Homelessness Laura Melnick  laura.melnick@smrls.org 4th Monday 11:30am-1pm.  Union Gospel Mission in St Paul.
Ramsey Homeless Advisory Board Trisha Cummins Kauffman   tckauffman@emwc.org Carol Zierman   carol.zierman@co.ramsey.mn.us 2nd Thursday 8:30am-10am.  Meetings quarterly.    Located at Union Gospel Mission in St Paul

 

Scott/Carver

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care Karen Hayes  khayes@co.carver.mn.us 2nd Thursday 3-4:30pm.     Scott-Carver-Dakota CAP Agency Shakopee location
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program Deacon Jim Pufahl  deaconjim@stmarkshakopee.com 2nd Thursday 3-4:30pm.  Quarterly beginning meetings at 1:30pm (Contact for schedule).     Scott-Carver-Dakota CAP Agency Shakopee location.
Heading Home Scott-Carver workgroup Allison Streich  AllisonS@carvercda.org Varies

 

Washington

Committee Contact Meeting Time, Location
Continuum of Care Kellie Cardinalkcardinal@saintandrews.org 2nd Wednesday 10-11am. Location varies
Family Homeless Prevention & Assistance Program Diane EliasDiane.Elias@co.washington.mn.us 2nd Wednesday 9-10am.  Location varies
Heading Home Washington Planning Workgroup David Browne david.browne@commonbond.orgMaribeth Lundeen emblund@msn.com 1st and 3rd Mondays 1-3pm at St Andrews Lutheran Church in Mahtomedi.